Events & Activities



Friends of the Mississippi River is proud to host over 100 high-quality outings and events annually. Come get your hands dirty and help restore local river habitat, learn to make your home or garden river-friendly, or toast the river with us!

Be sure to check back often, or, better yet, sign up for Mississippi Messages to receive FMR event calendars. We look forward to seeing you on the river!

Title Event Date Location
'State of the River Report' Launch + Presentation Thu, Sep 22 - 7:00 PM
Science Museum of Minnesota St. Paul
An Evening Celebrating the Mississippi River 2016 Tue, Oct 4 - 5:30 PM
Nicollet Island Pavilion Minneapolis
'Rebirth: The Mississippi's National Park' on TPT-MN! Sun, Sep 4 - 6:30 AM
'Rebirth: The Mississippi's National Park' on TPT-MN! Sun, Sep 4 - 12:30 PM
Tend the demonstration prairie at Ole Olson Park [FULL] Wed, Sep 14 - 6:00 PM
Ole Olson Park Minneapolis
Haul brush from the oak woodlands Sat, Sep 17 - 9:00 AM
3M's oak woodlands Cottage Grove
Collect native seed + cut cottonwood seedlings at Heritage Village Park Sat, Oct 8 - 9:00 AM
Heritage Village Park Inver Grove Heights
Collect native prairie seed at the Sand Coulee SNA [FULL] Sat, Sep 24 - 9:00 AM
Sand Coulee SNA Hastings
Help restore Pine Bend Bluffs Natural Area, brush haul + celebration Sat, Oct 15 - 9:00 AM
Pine Bend Bluffs Natural Area at the Flint Hills Resources Property Inver Grove Heights
Workday in the oak savanna Sat, Oct 1 - 9:00 AM
Mississippi River Gorge Minneapolis
St. Paul storm drain stenciling outing kits now available Mon, Sep 12 - 9:00 AM
Make & Take Rain Barrel Workshop - Just $35! Wed, Oct 5 - 6:00 PM
Wellstone Center St. Paul